Fair Housing Center Logo.
Dr. Jon Wismer in front of the newly installed accessibility ramp with FHC Director Pamela Kisch.


The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing, both public and private, on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, familial status, and disability. One potential type of prohibited discrimination under this Act is a refusal to provide reasonable accommodation to a person with a disability.

Discrimination based on disability are consistently two of our top three most common bases for complaints. Physical disability complaints comprise roughly 24% of the complaints we receive, while mental/emotional disability complaints make up roughly 15%. If you need an adjustment to your housing’s policies, check the reasonable accommodations. If you need an adjustment to your housing’s structure, please check reasonable modifications. 

Though not every complaint is resolved through litigation, you can read about cases we’ve filed on the basis of physical disability or on the basis of mental/emotional disability on our Litigation Log.

Disability: Individuals with mental or physical impairments that substantially limit one or more major life activities

Physical and mental impairments can include but are not limited to:
  • Visual, speech, or hearing issues
  • Cerebral palsy, autism, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, or muscular dystrophy
  • Cancer, heart disease, diabetes, or HIV/AIDS
  • Intellectual development disorder
  • Emotional illness

Stay Informed

Subscribe to our e-newsletter to keep up to date on our cases, events, and other fair housing news.